Programs for the 2019-2020 Season

Hi All,

It has been a very long time since I have last posted, and I am very sorry about that. I have been extremely busy and haven’t had the time yet to write some more posts. But, seeing as we are starting a new skating season I figure that I would talk about my programs for this season.

So as many of you have seen already, I have kept my long program from last season (Opus Variations 36: Nimrod). I decided to keep this program because I feel like it shows off the more classical side to my skating. Whenever the music starts up, it brings me to a calmer state and reminds me to breathe and to take my time. This piece of music is strong and powerful in a way that is unusual and quite unique, and because of that I feel like it relates to me very well because I am a unique skater with classical lines. After last season, I just felt like I wasn’t done performing it, and that there was so much more I was left to give. In terms of costuming for this program, I wanted to give it a more modern look. I now am wearing a Purple Ombre shirt with plain black pants, with a few sparkle button details on the front to give it that extra shine. Choreography and the small changes made are still done by Jeffrey Buttle

Now onto the short program. This season I decided to change my Moulin Rouge program and try out a more modern piece of music that really spoke to me. The title of the song I am skating to this season is called No Matter What by Calum Scott. This modern piece of music is one that I hold dear to my heart. Everyone in life has gone through some ups and downs, and has made some mistakes and tough decisions. This song’s message is about your family and friends loving and accepting you no matter any obstacle that life throws your way. I feel that skating to a piece of music that has a strong message and that you can relate to, is your own personal anthem. I hope that performing this program will send a message and give hope that no matter what you are going through, someone always loves you. It’s an emtional and heartfelt song and I hope that can be delievered in that way, when I perform it. The costume for this program is a modern 3/4 shirt with a cowell neck and a bit of flow, with no beading. I feel that skating to a modern piece of music, and one that speaks to you, you need a costume that is true to who you are with a modern approach to it. The Choreographer for this amazing program is Joey Russell.

These two styles of programs are very different, in terms of music and styling, and am very much excited and looking forward to performing it at all the events I will be attending. I really do hope you will enjoy watching the performance as much as I enjoy performing these two special programs.

Thanks for reading, and sorry again for the long wait!

Bennet Toman

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑