Autumn Classic International 2018

Hey Everyone,

So Sorry I haven’t posted in a long time! I have been pretty busy the past few months competing at different events and preparing for my International Assignment!

This year I competed for my third year at Autumn Classic International that was held in my home club of Skate Oakville, and all three years I competed at this event I have been going up against the Olympic Champion! Talk about inpsiring!!

I have to say first of all thank you to Skate Canada for giving me another opportunity to compete at an International Event. This has by far in my opinion been the best Autumn classic I have been to. Not only did I have the opportunity to compete at my home rink, but I got the opportunity to show the world as well what I can do as an athlete. I received a new International personal best and achieved the World technical minimum points so that I can compete at the World Championships one day. I acheived my goals set out for myself and more!

The crowd and the energy this year was amazing. I honestly felt like I was at a current World Championships. Some of the biggest names in the figure skating world were at this event. The whole rink was filled with spectators and gave such a great and positive atmosphere. I have to say thank you to all the fans and spectators for coming to watch and cheering on all the skaters. Thanks to all the cheering and support, I felt comfortable and at ease during my two performances. The energy was absolutely amazing and I fed off of all those positive feelings and emotions.

Stepping out onto the ice just before competing is always the worst part. the anticipation is building and you just want to go out there and perform. I remember looking up into the crowd before both programs and seeing all the smiles on everyones face. I took in all the surroundings and it made me feel relaxed. I had trained really hard for this event and I was ready to show the world what I can do. I enjoyed performing my two programs. I felt like I showed the charming character in the short program and the more calm and composed/patriotic skater in the free. Even after my programs I was satisfied with what I delivered. I was very happy with how I skated and it reflected because I finished in 6th overall.

The venue itself is also a great one to hold an International in. The rink itself has 4 ice pads, with ample of space to warm up and cool down in. It had all the necessary accommodations to help hold all the athletes, volunteers, judges, and spectators. So I say thank you Skate Oakville for hosting such a great event. I hope it gets put back at that venue next year!

ACI was a great and memorable experience for me and I hope to get more chances like this again in the future.

Thank you for reading!

Sincerely,

Bennet

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑